## EXETER HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE (SPECIAL MEETING)

11 September 2020

Present:-

Devon County Council:-

Councillors Y Atkinson (Chair), H Ackland, M Asvachin, S Aves, R Hannaford, A Leadbetter, P Prowse, G Sheldon and C Whitton

Exeter City Council Councillors O Foggin and D Harvey

<u>Apologies:-</u> Councillors R Newby and T Wardle

## \* 152 <u>Items Requiring Urgent Attention</u>

No item was raised as a matter of urgency.

## \* 153 Exeter Bus Station Final Scheme Traffic Orders

(Mr M Watson, Stagecoach (Exeter) attended under the Council's Public Participation Scheme and spoke to this item broadly in support of the proposals and the need for monitoring after implementation)

The Committee considered the Report of the Chief Officer for Highways, Infrastructure Development and Waste (HIW/20/30) on objections to the proposed restrictions around the new bus station once it was operational.

The proposals relating to Cheeke Street, Belgrave Road, Bampfylde Street, and Paris Street were detailed in section 2 of the Report.

The alternative routes for traffic not allowed through these proposed prohibitions were shown in red, blue and green on the plan in Appendix IV of the Report.

The Report also detailed (in Appendix V) three submissions/representations resulting from the statutory consultation and the respective responses by Officers.

The Chief Officer for Highways, Infrastructure Development and Waste outlined the proposals and addressed the representations received as a result of the statutory advertisement and responded to Members' detailed questions.

The Chief Officer indicated that the proposals would be monitored when implemented and reviewed as appropriate.

It was **MOVED** by Councillor S Aves, **SECONDED** by Councillor C Whitton and

**RESOLVED** that the implementation of restrictions as advertised, detailed in the Report HIW/20/30 be approved.

[*N.B* In accordance with Standing Order 32(4) Councillor Hannaford requested that his abstention from the vote taken be recorded]

## \*DENOTES DELEGATED MATTER WITH POWER TO ACT

The Meeting started at 10.00 am and finished at 10.38 am